General newbie help

So I am very new at this after raising a family and now have grandchildren ( who I get to buy lego for!!!). I thought it might be fun to help my Grandchildren understand the value of money and work by helping them to set up a little shop with used lego. However I have been over at BL for awhile purchasing used Lego. etc and now am a little terrified. I just thought it might be a fun thing for us to do and perhaps they may earn a little pocket money now and then however the last thing I wish to do is the wrong thing by the buyers.
I am really worried we might make innocent mistakes etc. we would never be a big time dealer etc and the pieces I have need a lot of cleaning and I don't think any of the white pieces can be sold. we would only be selling old used lego nothing flash.
Could people let me know if this will be ok or would be shouted down as complete and utter idiots whilst we were learning.
I would appreciate any advice .
Thank you so much

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I would say that it's pretty straightforward setting up a store here and there are plenty of helpful folk - don't ever think a question you have is too silly or basic! Obviously a bigger inventory will get you 'found' (in terms of searching) but there's nothing to say you can't start with a smaller quantity.

I predominantly trade in used pieces and yes, cleaning can be a lengthy process. I tend to leave pieces soaking in a tub with a water and disinfectant solution for at least 24 hours, then wash in soapy water using an old soft brush and rinse in clean water. Dry them on a towel then stick in the airing cupboard overnight to dry off all the nooks and crannies.

As far as condition goes, just be honest. There are a few forum posts here that discuss this and as long as any defects are described accurately (and you put them in the 'Acceptable' category) people can make an informed choice whether to buy or not.