Problem with seller (potential scam?)

Not sure if this is the right place to put this, but here goes.

I've been selling here for a few years. Last week I sold a set, a fairly big one, to a buyer with a recently-made account, and while the transaction appeared to have gone smoothly at first, things have taken a strange turn. The buyer claims that a key piece arrived broken, and demands that I either send them a replacement part or give them a $10 refund.

Now, it's entirely possible that this is exactly what it seems and nothing is up...but the fact that they asked for money upfront, and one that's a large portion of the cost, is suspicious to me. In addition, I checked the catalog and the piece in question isn't normally worth even 1/10 of what they're asking, so that really gave me pause. I suspect that attempting to solve the problem through direct message (as they would have me do) would break policy here on Brickowl; and that leaves me stuck.

So I have two questions: one, is it possible to solve this through official brickowl channels so that we can ensure no one is being cheated? Who can I contact about this? And second, in the event that this is a scam, what kind of protection is there for the seller in a case like this?

Thanks in advance for your time.

Comments

• 3 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • @Red Blur So it's actually 'problem with buyer', not 'seller'... A scam? Asking a refund for a broken part can hardly be considered a scam, particulary not when the amount involved is $10 (my opinion anyway).