Shipping Thickness exceeds the limit

Hi Everyone

An advice, please!?

I am new here however, I run a shop for a while on the other platform and I have some experience, but here is a bit different when the customer pays before being invoiced.

A customer placed an order in my shop and he add's the shipping method according to the website, but the issue is, it will not fit through the letterbox as a Large Letter due to some parts being bulky and it has to go as a Small Parcel
It will cost me £2 extra to send the order.

I really don't want to cancel the order as this is my 2nd one here and maybe I will get a feedback and possibly I will start selling every now and then, at the end of the day I will make this money back soon or later, but not if this situation occurs more often than not.

What should I do in this scenario?

Send the order and pay the extra?
Ask the customer for extra money?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Cheers
Stefan

Comments

• 15 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • edited March 2017 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Your letter shipping methods look all right, configured for a 25mm maximum thickness.

So how did the part end up being too thick for lettermail? Did it have incorrect dimensions in the BrickOwl database? Does your 25mm include some room for the bubbles of the bubble mailer?

And I would just pay the extra £2, it's not the customer's fault.
  • I think the 25mm doesn't include the bubble envelope I will reduce the limit to 20mm to avoid this situation in the future.

This was my first thought to pay the extra.

Thank you for your time. Much appreciated.
  • I have a depth limit of 20mm for my large letter band as this takes into account the padded envelope and still brings it below the Royal Mail threshold. On a couple of occasions a part will tip it over into my small parcel band and charge the customer accordingly, but still ships as large letter so I refund them the difference.
  • What part is it?