What to do?

I'm new to BO as a seller but I'm a seller on the other site for years. A new buyer here requested a shipping quote for a 22 cent instruction manual (on Aug. 30). I replied with the shipping costs (Euro 5.75) and the quote was accepted - much to my surprise. However for some reason the UK buyer selected IBAN as payment method which is actually not available to UK buyers or not preferred since this will cost buyer and or seller dozens of Euros. So I messaged the buyer to send payment via PayPal. Never got a reply, nor a payment. What should I do?

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Sounds like you shouldn't allow IBAN as a payment method for the UK, you may want to fix that. :)

I would cancel after a week if the customer never replies.
  • Sounds like you shouldn't allow IBAN as a payment method for the UK, you may want to fix that. :)
    Fixed that already :-)
    I would cancel after a week if the customer never replies.
    Where can you do that?

• On the order page, click on "More Actions" on the top right.
  • Thanks, I cancelled the order.
  • @Leftoverbricks does it cost the buyer money to make the payment ? I had the idea within europe IBAN is free to use ?
  • IBAN is free unless you want to do a currency conversion at the same time. It's widely used within the Eurozone but not quite universal yet. I once had a customer send me some Danish currency via IBAN, but they didn't do the conversion themselves which landed me with a fee that more or less wiped out the incoming amount.

I believe most banks in the UK can process an IBAN payment, but as I say, they normally come with a fee due to changing currency. BACS became the British standard before IBAN became a thing (or at least before it became widely used), and the banks have stuck with it for Sterling transfers.