released stripe payment

hi

I was checking some stripe payments, and noticed that one of the payments had been released, this seems to indicate that it was refunded to the customer.

I have no knowledge of returning the payment via brickowl as the package was sent, but I did take a little time to deliver the package.

I didn't see anything prior to signing up for stripe that a time limit is imposed, but I see now a message is displayed for all stripe orders, to remind us.

In this instance the customer has received quite a number of parts, I received not favourable feedback and I'm out of pocket ....

anyone else had issues with stripe ?

Comments

• 12 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Stripe has a time limit of 7 days from Authorisation to Capture. I am sure it is in there T&C's.
    Brickowl uses the Authorisation and Capture system where Bricklink just captures immediately after payment is made.
    However I also got caught out on this previously. But now Admin has added a warning message at the top of orders paid with Stripe
  • I asked stripe about it, and it seems it's a brickowl.com issue.

From stripe "When someone makes a purchase, the charge is authorized, and then it is captured. If the capture does not take place, after seven days the authorization is released. That is the meaning of what you see on the line that says released. What you can also see is the code 400 ERR indicating the capture event failed.

This type of setup is not the default setup for a Stripe account, so I would reach out to Brick Owl and discuss this with them if you wish to change it."

Nothing I can do about the released payment/free parts, but if the above helps someone else .. all good
  • Thx for this information. Just a question, @lawrence why is the payment captured on shipment date and not on de order date
  • You can capture it before the order is set to "shipped'. Go in the stripe dashboard and look for the pending transactions.