How Do I Look?

Well, I have really taken the plunge now. I now have over 126,200 items in 505 lots listed in my BrickOwl store. And, as both a seller and buyer, I am still learning how this site works. So I would appreciate it very much if some of you could take a look at my store and storefront to let me know how I look. Does everything look OK to you? How can I improve things and get more sales? Thanks in advance for looking and your helpful comments.

Thor
http://netbricks.brickowl.com/

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Hey Thor, nice to see you make the move :-bd

I think the front page's clarity could be improved, the first impression is a real Wall of Text. Try to separate paragraphs under headers in bold rather than in capital letters. I think you could also cut on the general "Terms" chatter, to keep it simple, less verbose. BrickOwl takes care of many things which would otherwise require lengthy terms.

I couldn't advise further, I just opened on BrickOwl yesterday myself! (72300 items in 1652 lots)
  • Seconded - good move - I would agree with Stragus impression with "wall of text" - however most folks who buy here **may** glance at your home page - there is really little need as "terms", shipping costs and hidden extra fees are pretty much irrelevant on BrickOwl whereas on the other place you place an order - allegedly contractually binding, without knowing how much the invoice will be.

One of the most important aspects of selling here is (IMO but with time here) quick response, quick shipping and accurate orders - and good customer service - make a mistake do something to make good - like Amazon do…

A few recent purchases on the other place left me in limbo - no response after 2-3 days - do I go elswhere and risk an NPB? Doesn't happen here - at least not yet for me!

Graham
  • Graham, what's your experience with "Request a Quote" versus predetermined shipping settings? Do buyers shy away from stores using quotes?