Very stupid question/inquiry re: BrickSync use

I am wondering how all of you learned to use BrickSync. I have no training in coding, and although I consider myself tech savvy, I do not know anything about this type of software/platform/etc. I'm guessing most of you already had some background in coding before you started? Is there a class I can take, or some beginner-level terminology I can Google to self-teach?

I only sell on BO right now and have found this aspect of branching out to be very daunting. Not looking for someone to teach me - just wondering how you all arrived at that point!

Thank you in advance,
Andi

Comments

• 10 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • edited November 2023 Vote Up0Vote Down
    I'm not a programmer/coder in any way, but the basic commands were very simple when I used it. The main downside is that you need a system that's always running, but for some this isn't an issue.

Alternatively, there are several solutions that do this all for you (and in the cloud) for a modest fee in the 1-1.5% range usually (BrickFreedom, BrickPacker, BLS Manager, etc...) They do the syncing, but also have some additional features that are nice.
  • As @Emporiosa said, to use Bricksync you need to have it running 24/7. I've been using it for around 6 years now, and I have it running on a cheap Windows tablet.

I'm not a coder/programmer either (although I do have a background in IT support). The basic commands are easy enough to use, although to a new user it does look daunting.

You won't be able to do anything with it currently as it uses BL as it's main/primary inventory. Some of the other solutions that were mentioned let you use BO as the primary inventory.
  • Hi Andi,