New Seller Confused about Shipping Bands

Hello!

I'm new to brick owl and have been setting up my shop the past couple of days. I got to the part to set up shipping methods and am very confused on how/what bands are. My store is in the United States so I plan to use USPS and UPS to ship out things. Can someone please explain what and how bands work? Are there examples of bands that I can use?

Thanks!
Arret

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Yes, you can use shared shipping bands (if they meet your needs) and simply modify the rates on them - go to your shipping tab under store settings and there is a big green or blue button saying SHARED BANDS, if memory services. I do share all of mine (in the US also), you'd need only change your zip code to show where you are shipping from so the zones calc correctly. The bands I share are actual USPS rates + 0.50 to cover packing materials, and I pad 0.5 to 2 ounces depending on the size/weights as packing gets heavier when you get into boxes. This presumes you use padded mailers, you'll have to tinker with it also. Much of your bands will depend on your planned packaging sizes/weights, etc.
  • Thank you for your help!
  • I hope you were able to get it setup ok! That was my biggest challenge when I opened in 2018 - figuring out the appropriate padding to accommodate packaging weights as well as the size constraints for different USPS options, e.g., flat-rate priority mail boxes. Plus USPS now charges a surcharge for boxes over 22" in length (I think), so I had to move my larger items to simply "Request a Quote" (i.e., sealed box sets) since there are variables on when those charges apply. :-)
  • @Calibrick how do you just have "request a quote" on all items? Im only selling sets and since they are heavier/bigger for shipping anyway, there is no standard USPS rate for them. I don't see a way to set this as my only default. Thanks.