A new BrickStore or similar program...

I am no programmer but I as well as many other sellers need a dependable program similar to BrickStore that will work amongst both venues as well as others. I figured I would start this thread to see if we can get the ball rolling on a replacement. This should be a good spot to give ideas, ask questions, find someone to do it, etc... I will start.

First if I understand BrickLink's TOS properly, building the program to work with BrickLink and Brick Owl is okay providing we don't use their info, correct? If this is the case, Lawrence are you okay with us finding someone to build a program around Brick Owl that uses Brick Owl's info that will also upload to BrickLink and other venues?

The main need for me as far as BrickStore goes is the ability to decipher and keep stockroom items in the stockroom when uploading. It also needs to be able to import from Brick Owl as currently there is no working way to do so.

What kind of costs are we looking at to have someone rebuild it? Is there anyone here capable and willing to do it? What will you charge?

Any ideas about getting a pool going to provide financing for the project?

PP

Comments

• 19 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Writing such a program from scratch is a lot of work. Hiring a programmer to do so, that would minimally be a 2-3 months full-time effort, meaning $16000-24000. I don't think sellers would manage to pool that together, for an uncertain outcome.

Someone taking the lead and writing the software on his own, to later sell licenses, would be an option...