taxes, what do you do?

To the members in the USA who do business taxes.

Not how you track finances, but what type of service do you use to do your taxes?

This is my first time doing business taxes. So do you use Turbo Tax Business Suit, H&R Business, do you have a tax professional you go to in person, etc?

Any and all tips/suggestions would be much appreciated.

Much thanks,
Chris

Comments

• 9 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Hi Chris,

One of my favorite topics to talk about. Aside from LEGO I have been preparing taxes for the past 3 years.

As this is your first year, I would seek a professionals help. Any H&R block should be able to help out or a small local firm should be able to handle it. A few things you'll want to have ready:

-Information for all revenues
    -Information on all expensess broken out by category (cost of goods sold, shipping, office supplies ectt)
    -Detail on any capital purchases (storage units or equipment related to your operation) generally these are depreciated over the MACRS life of the asset, but the person doing your taxes should be able to claim section 179 (type of expense) on them for you.
    -Any detail on rent/power/internet and a percentage breakout of how much space is used at your house for your LEGO operation (home office/business deduction)

Potential forms that will be used, Schedule C, Schedule SE, Form 4562, and Form 8829.

Please let me know if you have any other questions, hope this helps!

Kyle

• Perhaps the 6 digit business code is what he is looking for...

Brian
  • @DagsBricks I already have all the numbers/tax IDs needed, to include the 6 digit NAICS code.